Thorns

I have always been intrigued by roses. The way the flower is so commonly associated with love and gentleness has amused me. When you think of a rose you think of calm and easy beauty. Yet the beautiful rose has thorns strong enough to puncture skin. I’ve always associated the rose with my femininity – delicacy hiding the unending strength ready to appear at any given moment.

It kills me when I am automatically disregarded as the weaker sex. So I commonly visualize myself as a rose with strong thorns. My lips always lift when I observe people knocking into stereotypes. And my smile only grows when I see an unsuspecting person admiring the weakness in someone or thing, only for them to be taken down by the thorns that come with the unstoppable rose.

4 thoughts on “Thorns

  1. This is really great. I love that you compared the rose to yourself and Femininity. i agree that Roses are very beautiful, but also are strong

    Like

  2. You’re ‘showing not telling’ in this post is amazing! I really like concept you’re explaining! I like the sentence ‘My lips always lift when I observe people knocking into stereotypes.’ The imagery you use is so good! Please keep writing, you have skill!

    Like

  3. This reminds me a lot of the symbolism of the rosebush in The Scarlet Letter! Have you ever read it? And I love your outspokenness against the gender stereotypes society tries to impose. Perhaps you already know, but Emma Watson is the United Nations HeForShe ambassador, and she made an absolutely inspiring speech to the UN about HeForShe a few years ago–you should check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

